Fedasil, the EU and return

At the end of 2010, the ‘Return Directive’ setting out common standards for the return of applicants for international protection came into force. It provides transparent and common guidelines for return and repatriation, the use of coercive measures and readmission into the EU.  The European Return Fund was created in 2008 to back up the return policy until 2013, giving preference to voluntary return. For information on the ‘Return Directive’, visit the European Commission website.

Fedasil is involved in several networks and projects focusing on the voluntary return of failed applicants or immigrants without legal permission: the CSI network, the ERI project and the mobily partnerships.

Common Support Initiative (CSI)

The Common Support Initiative (CSI) project was launched in 2013 under the auspices of Fedasil and aims at improving exchanges and operational cooperation between the European countries in the area of voluntary return. CSI also provides technical support to the European partners, mainly by developing common tools in the field of voluntary return and reintegration. It links up with complementary international initiatives such as the REG (the Return Expert Group of the EMN).

Nine organisations from nine different countries currently participate in the project: Belgium (Fedasil), Germany (BAMF), Luxembourg (Ministry of Foreign Affairs), Finland (Migri), United Kingdom (Home Office), Switzerland (SEM), France (OFII), the Netherlands (DT&V) and Norway (UDI). The goal is to extend the list of participants to other interested EU Member States who encounter the same challenges.

Common support initiative

CSI Briefing note

European Reintegration Network (ERIN)

Since June 2016 and until 2021, the ERIN Specific Actions project focuses on the joint organisation and management by several Member States of support for the reintegration process in a number of countries of origin. The goal of ERIN (European Reintegration Network) is to be able to finance some of the expenses with European means. Moreover, ERIN is an opportunity for Fedasil to better understand new aspects in the field of reintegration, thanks to the collaboration with other European countries.

ERIN Specific Actions counts 17 member countries: Germany, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Spain, Finland, France, Greece, Italy, Luxemburg, Malta, Norway, the Netherlands, the United Kingdom, Sweden and Switzerland. There are 24 countries of origin involved in the project, mainly from Africa and the Middle East.

Mobility partnerships

Mobility partnerships form part of what is called the Global Approach to the question of migration and mobility in the European Union.  In recent years, mobility partnerships have been agreed with Cap Verde, Moldavia, Georgia, Armenia and Morocco.

Adopted in 2005, the first global approach to the question of migration was conceived as a framework for action which would take into account all aspects of migrations, in partnership with third countries. These aspects may concern illegal migration (for example readmission agreements and the prevention of illegal migration), as well as legal migration (visa policy for example), and migration and development. It's in a way asylum and migration seen not only from the European perspective, but also from that of origin countries, transit countries and third countries.

Fedasil is currently involved in two of them: Morocco (Sharaka project) and Tunisia (Lemma project). In both cases, in the area of illegal migration, projects for the reintegration of nationals have been developed for periods of several years. They aim at better coordination of the reintegration services offered by Member States thus complementing our Belgian reintegration programme.